Being convicted of DWI in the state of Texas carries with it potentially life-altering consequences. Not all DWI’s are alike and there are extreme instances where the state penalties rival those of criminal offenses like murder or arson. Having a child under 15 in the car, causing bodily injury or death and multiple instances of DWI carry the large fines and long prison sentences.
It is one thing to be pulled over and arrested for simple DWI. It is quite another if you are pulled over with a child under the age 15 and charged with DWI. The penalties for being convicted of DWI when a child was in the automobile is that the crime is classified as a state jail felony, punishable by 6 months to 2 years in a State Jail Facility and a driver’s license suspense of up to 2 years.
If you are involved in an automobile accident where another person dies as a result, you can be charged with Intoxication Manslaughter – DWI that Causes Death. This very serious crime is a 2nd-degree felony punishable by fines of up to $10,000, 2 to 10 years in Texas Department of Corrections, and a driver’s license suspension of180 days to 2 years.
Another very serious form of DWI is when a person is involved in an accident where a person suffers a bodily injury. The crime of Intoxication Assault – DWI that Causes Serious Bodily Injury is a third-degree felony with fines of up to $10,000, 2 to 10 years in Texas Department of Corrections, and a driver’s license suspension of180 days to 2 years.
If you are convicted of a 3rd or more DWI and have had w 2 prior penitentiary trips, you could be looking at a sentence of 25 years to life in Texas Department of Criminal Justice.
Don’t take Texas DWI charges lightly. It is imperative that we start to build a case for your defense as soon as possible after your arrest. Call Parent Law today.