The penalties for being convicted of a DWI for the first time in Texas include a fine of up to $2000.00. If you are caught with an open container you can face a mandatory 6 days in the County Jail. In any event, you will have to do at least 24 hours and up to 100 hours of community service. In lieu of having to spend time in jail is the possibility of probation for a period of 1-2 years. As a condition of this probation, you may have to submit to drug and alcohol usage evaluations to assess the probability of your repeat offending. You may also have to attend a DWI education class in order to avoid a one-year driver’s license suspension. This option is not available if you were under 21 at the time of your conviction. You’ll also be required to attend a victim’s impact panel to make sure you are aware of how reckless alcohol-related driving may impact the lives of others. Other terms of your probation could include that you maintain steady employment and a clean criminal record going forward.
Even though this may be your first offense, your previous driving record and the results of your alcohol evaluation program play a big part in the severity of the punishment that a judge may hand out. Each case is evaluated individually in order to ensure that the defendant does not repeat offend. Special conditions may apply to your case that cause you to have to install an ignition interlock device on your vehicle. Such a device must be installed on all vehicles that you have control of and requires that you perform a breath test before getting behind the wheel of your automobile. Another exceptional condition is that you may be required to attend Alcohol Anonymous (AA) meetings on a regular basis and for a definite period of time. Another provision could be that you are required to maintain your sobriety, i.e., not consume any alcohol whatsoever, monitored by periodic and random urinalysis taken at the probation office. If you have a prior criminal history or a poor driving record, you may be required to spend some in the county jail and if you were involved in a DWI-related accident involving property damage, you may be required to pay restitution to your victim.
If you have been arrested and charged with DWI remember to exercise your right to remain silent and call the San Antonio DWI attorneys at Parent-Law. Every day hundreds of innocent people are wrongly accused of DWI throughout the country and here in San Antonio, the burden of proof remains with the State of Texas. You may have been the victim of a young and inexperienced police officer with inadequate training in the implementation of field sobriety measures, or the equipment used in breath testing may have been improperly maintained. There could be any number of ways that your rights were been violated and we will try to have the case thrown out. Call Parent-Law today for a free consultation.