So I bet you thought that bad things like being charged with a San Antonio DWI only happened to other people didn’t you? Well, now that you have been pulled over and arrested you know better. You may be starting to realize that unless you live a completely sober lifestyle and never touch alcohol or drugs, getting caught driving after having had a couple of drinks can happen to anyone. Whether you have spent happy hour at a bar or attended a family get together like a birthday party or holiday celebration, or simply while you were drinking at home and decided to run out to the corner convenience store, chances are that you may be legally impaired to drive at some point on any given day.
Having as little as two bottles of beer could put you over the legal limit and if you drive you’ll be subject to arrest. If you are caught with an open container of alcohol, you could be looking at a minimum term in the County Jail of 3 days up to a maximum of 6 months behind bars.
Being convicted for the first time of the charge of DWI is a Class B Misdemeanor in Texas but it will feel like you have committed a felony. For up to two years after your first conviction, you may face having your life controlled by the government to a certain extent in terms of being required to do community service, attend drug and alcohol counseling, and participate in victim impact education classes. That being said, the police can and do make mistakes every day and hundreds of innocent people are improperly charged with serious, life-altering crime of DWI. If you have been charged, you need to call the Texas DWI defense attorneys at Parent-Law today for a free consultation. We will leave no stone unturned to attempt to get the DWI charges that have been laid against you thrown out or reduced to the minimum possible.