With medical marijuana becoming more widely used, many people’s perception of the drug is changing. Debates are raging and laws are being changed throughout the county. In Texas, however, any marijuana offense carries harsh penalties. If you’ve been charged with distributing or selling marijuana, you face especially severe consequences that can lead to years in prison and a mark on your criminal record that can interfere with your future for years to come.
With so much at stake, you need to ensure that you’re choosing the best way to proceed. You’re feeling the overwhelming stress of facing a serious criminal charge, and you need to be sure you’ve got an attorney on your side that is familiar with Texas’ marijuana laws. An experienced lawyer can mean the difference between serious consequences and getting your life back on track.
San Antonio Marijuana Distribution Attorney
Dave Parent and his team of experienced legal professionals can analyze every aspect of your complicated situation and find a strategy that can defend you against this allegation. He proactively fights to defend those facing marijuana charges like yours throughout Texas while maintaining open communication with every client. Every case is important, and you can rest assured that Dave Parent will aggressively fight for a positive resolution for you.
Call (210) 819-4111 today to schedule your free consultation. We can inform you of all of your options and put your mind at ease as you start this confusing process ahead of you. Let us take on your case in cities such as Boerne, Bandera, Comfort, Fair Oaks Ranch, San Antonio, Cross Mountain Ranch, and the surrounding areas of Bexar County.
Marijuana Distribution Penalties in Texas
The potential consequences for both selling and giving away marihuana are much more severe than simply possessing it. The penalties vary depending on the amount in question and the manner of distribution:
- If ¼ ounce or less is given the offense is a class B misdemeanor with a potential penalty of 180 days in jail and a fine of up to $2000.
- If the offender was selling ¼ ounce or less, they are subject to a class A misdemeanor with penalties including up to 1 year in prison and a maximum fine of $4,000.
- If selling ¼ ounces to 5 pounds, they face a state jail felony with penalties including 108 days to 2 years in jail and a fine up to $10,000.
- If the charge is selling 5 to 50 pounds, they will face a second-degree felony with a penalty of 2-20 years in jail and up to $10,000.
- If selling drug paraphernalia, the charge is a class A misdemeanor with possible penalties including up to 1 year in prison and up to $4,000 in fines.
Defending Your Future Against a Charge of Selling Cannabis
When forming a defense against these serious charges, it is important to examine the manner in which the marijuana was discovered. The violation of your constitutional rights is always an issue in these cases. If the law enforcement officers detained you or searched your property without proper warrants, your rights may have been violated, and the evidence may not be admissible in court.
With the help of a San Antonio marijuana defense attorney who is familiar with Texas’ marijuana laws and legal procedures, you may be able to fight against your charges. Dave Parent can thoroughly examine the prosecution’s case against you for any possible weakness. If your rights were violated, you deserve fair treatment under the law.
Hiring a San Antonio Lawyer for a Distributing Marijuana Charge
With so much at stake, you need to know that your attorney is ready to defend you through any challenging situation. Dave Parent and his team are determined to aggressively pursue a positive resolution for you, even under difficult circumstances. To ensure that your future is being protected and you’re on the right track in Bexar County, call (210) 819-4111 and schedule your free consultation with Dave today.